cincinnati music theatre

CMT seeks 2020-21 directors

Cincinnati Music Theatre is in search of qualified directors for the 2020-21 season’s two Mainstage shows and three Studio Series shows.

Established in 1963, Cincinnati Music Theatre has a long and proud history of presenting popular, large-scale, award-winning musicals to enthusiastic audiences from across the Greater Cincinnati area.

CMT Mainstage shows are large- or medium-scale, fully-produced musicals, presented in the Jarson-Kaplan Theatre at the Aronoff Center for the Arts.

The Studio Series is performed in a cabaret setting in the Aronoff’s Fifth Third Bank Theater.  The series allows directors, performers and producers – both experienced and new – to acquaint themselves with Aronoff policies and to explore their own capabilities. Shows may be original or published works, but should be appropriate for a cabaret-style performance. We are particularly interested in original cabarets and existing revues.

Cincinnati Music Theatre encourages the creation of original art.  If an original revue or show is submitted, an arranger may be hired and paid a flat rate at the producer’s discretion in lieu of paying grand rights.

The Studio Series is intended for cabaret, revue, and small-scale musicals with little or no costume, set or tech requirements, as there is no budget for sets or costumes.  Performances should lend themselves to piano accompaniment or a small combo.

Interested directors should submit the following information:

  1. Name and contact information
  2. Theatrical experience and/or resume
  3. For each production you are interested in directing, please give the following:

– Application for Mainstage or Studio Series?
– Show title and creators
– Licensing entity
– Cast requirements
– Production requirements (sets/costumes/props etc.)
– Do you have staff or tech people you’ve asked (or plan to ask) to work on this production?
– A brief synopsis or explanation of theme
– Your vision for the production
– What challenges do you see with this show? How do you plan to meet them?
– Why is this show a good choice for CMT’s 2020-21 season?

Please send the above information by September 29, 2019 to VP Creative Kendra Struthers at

Finalists will be invited to present their show(s) to the Creative Committee and CMT board in October, 2019. If you are not available at the time selected, Kendra will present for you.

More information about CMT, including a list of past productions, can be found at our website (

Please note that CMT is an all-volunteer group, and there is no compensation for staff, actors, tech, or musicians.


CMT proudly announces the cast for its 2019 fall main stage production of Cabaret. The cast includes:

cincinnati music theatre

CMT announces 2019-20 season

Cincinnati Music Theatre announces its 2019-20 season, including two full-scale musical productions in the Jarson-Kaplan Theater and three Studio Series productions in the intimate Fifth Third Bank Theater.

Producing a historic five-show season, CMT is excited to offer Cincinnati high quality musicals at an affordable price. From a classic movie musical to Tony-Award winning shows, to an original work created by one of our own, CMT continues to thrill audiences with popular musical theater and fabulous local talent, as well as delight them with new works.

The mainstage season features the Kander and Ebb classic Cabaret  November 8 to 16, 2019,  in the Jarson-Kaplan Theater. Skip Fenker directs. Singin’ in the Rain – based on the MGM film of the same name by Comden and Green – runs May 8 to 16 in the Jarson-Kaplan, directed by Dennis Murphy.

The Studio Series season features three shows, including Side By Side By Sondheim directed by Adam Drake (Sept. 6, 7, 13 and 14, 2019), Singables & Swingables: An Evening of Jazz, created and directed by CMT board member Marypat Carletti (Feb 14, 15, 21 and 22, 2020) and I Do! I Do! A Musical About Marriage (June 5, 6, 11 and 12, 2020) directed by Tom Peters. All Studio Series shows run in the Fifth Third Bank Theater at the Aronoff.

Season tickets go on sale Monday, April 15 and single tickets go on sale Saturday, June 3, at, (513) 621-ARTS [2787], and the Aronoff Center Ticket Office.

One of Cincinnati’s oldest and most successful community theaters, CMT is proud of its long history of presenting popular, large scale, award-winning musicals to enthusiastic audiences from across the Greater Cincinnati area. Like us on Facebook at, and follow us on Instagram @cincinnatimusictheatre.

We are most proud to have performed in the JARSON KAPLAN THEATRE since the opening of the Aronoff in 1995.

We look forward to seeing you here!